I wanted to take a moment and blog about something that I am dealing with on a daily basis. I am a full time college student at the University of Arizona as well as the Outreach Director here at Vets4Vets. As I walk around campus on my way to class I am always struck by extreme contrast I feel between myself and every other student that goes walking, biking or skating by me. I see the innocent and unknowing look of youth and inexperience on them. When I sit in my classes and we are encouraged to speak up I hear the book knowledge that I am trying to acquire coming from them and I hesitate to add my worldly knowledge to the conversation. It can be such an overwhelming mix of feelings, some days it is anger at their lack of real knowledge, others it is sadness for my lost college experience. I am fortunate to have been involved in a number of peer support groups over the past year with many veterans going through the same or similar situations. The thing that has been most helpful to me while I trudge through the rigors of college is the presence and encouragement of other veterans. I have meet many other vets though the Student Veterans of America, the U of A Student Vets club and Vets4Vets workshops. It turns out that most if not all fo us have struggled to acclimatize to civilain life, especially at educational institutions. I am often reminded that the majority of society doesn’t have a clue about the sacrifices the men and women in uniform make everyday. I am also reminded that other men and women who served understand exactly how I feel most days and are feeling that way too. I hope that if you are a veteran reading this and are having difficulties readjusting or finding your way that you would seek out other veterans at the VA, the Vet Centers, student veteran groups through SVA, the National Veterans Foundation, US Vets or one of the many Vets4Vets support groups (either local or national workshops). College is tough for anyone to get through without support, but for a veteran who is not just changing lifestyles but changing cultures, languages and careers this challange can feel insurmountable. It doesn’t have to be this way, find a support system that encourages your growth and potential and you will find success.

Doc Randle – OUT

Leave a comment